The Queer Autistic Newsletter
The Queer Autistic Podcast
{Podcast}: Sensory Emergencies, Oh My!
3
0:00
-27:30

{Podcast}: Sensory Emergencies, Oh My!

On creating a sensory emergency protocol and being so kind to your sensory needs.
3

Dear lovely humans,

This week I have been in an intense Sensory Emergency-which basically means that I’ve been experiencing chronic headaches and migraines due to being sensory overloaded. So instead of skipping this week’s newsletter I thought I’d do a podcast episode and share in a way that feels accessible to me.

I’ve been thinking for some time about creating a podcast and this is also a way of exploring it and seeing if I like it. A small doable step if you will. Whether it’s creating a podcast, tending to our sensory needs or healing-I’m a big believer in taking the smallest doable steps.

If you enjoy this podcast episode, please feel free to let me know in the comments. I’d also love to hear your own experiences of tending to your sensory needs.

In this episode:

  • I share my own recent experience of being in a Sensory Emergency and how I’ve been tending to my sensory needs.

  • How to be so compassionate, kind and loving towards ourselves when we make a sensory “mistake” or ignore our sensory needs. A supportive thing we might ask ourselves that is a key part of our sensory wellness.

  • What a Sensory Safety Emergency Protocol is and what I’ve been doing for mine-including an unintentional digital detox.

  • The difference between a Sensory Safety Emergency Protocol and regular sensory wellness practices.

    If you look closely you can see a deer and pheasant out for a walk together. I happened upon them while on my own walk and we just stared at each other for some delightful moments.

Thank you for reading and listening!

I hope this weekend is nourishing, delightful and sensory soothing! As always, if you enjoyed this newsletter please feel free to share any reflections in the comments or to share with someone who you think might enjoy it.

Warmly,

Tiffany

Thanks for reading The Queer Autistic Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Share

Leave a comment

3 Comments
The Queer Autistic Newsletter
The Queer Autistic Podcast
A podcast about healing trauma & coming home to our queer and autistic selves.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tiffany Landry